Jim Thorpe Award Finalists: Cash, Hargreaves, and King

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced three finalists for the 2015 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football. The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football where he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. Jim Thorpe Award Finalists: Jeremy Cash, Duke, Sr. – Through 11 games, Cash has amassed 94 tackles, 18.0 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, 8 QB pressures, 4 pass breakups, 3 caused fumbles... Read more →

Hornung Award Honors College Football's Most Versatile Player

Three defensive stars who provide their teams offensive energy and a workhorse all-purpose offensive back have been named finalists for the sixth annual Paul Hornung Award, given to the most versatile player in major college football. The four players – Adoree’ Jackson (Southern Cal), Robert Nkemdiche (Ole Miss), Christian McCaffrey (Stanford) and Jabrill Peppers (Michigan) represent power conferences Pac-12, SEC and Big Ten. 2015 PAUL HORNUNG AWARD FINALISTS Adoree’ Jackson, Southern California. Soph. 5-11, 185. CB/ WR/ KOR / PR. Jackson has blazing speed and is a triple-threat for the... Read more →

Who Is College Football's Most Outstanding Defensive Player?

The Maxwell Football Club announced the 2015 finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The finalists are: Tyler Matakevich, Temple University, Senior, Linebacker Matakevich became the seventh player in NCAA history to record 100 tackles in four straight seasons Saturday during Temple's 31-12 win over Memphis. For the season Matakevich has posted 107 tackles, 12.5 tackles for loss, 4 sacks, 5 interceptions and 4 pass break ups. He is the heart and soul of a Temple defense that has helped forge a 9-2... Read more →

And the Five Finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award Are...

The following players are vying for the honor of Nagurski Defensive Player of the Year. ​Jeremy Cash, S, Duke (6-2, 210, Sr., Miami, Fla.): A second-team All-America selection last season, Cash has come back strong in 2015 and is tied for third in the Atlantic Coast Conference in tackles per game at 8.8. He also is the only defensive back in the Top 100 in FBS in tackles for loss per game and is second in the country behind Penn State end Carl Nassib with 17.5 (79 yards in losses).... Read more →

Fans to Help Decide College Football's Best Receiver

Fans may now help determine which of the three finalists will be named the 2015 Biletnikoff Award winner by voting as often as once daily. The Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football's outstanding receiver, regardless of position. The finalists for the 2015 award are: Corey Coleman, Baylor University Josh Doctson, Texas Christian University Laquon Treadwell, University of Mississippi Read more →

Best Linebacker Finalists--Are They The Toughest Players in College Football?

The 2015 Butkus Award finalists for best college linebacker are: Leonard Floyd University of Georgia Deion Jones Louisiana State University Raekwon McMillan The Ohio State University Reggie Ragland University of Alabama Jaylon Smith University of Notre Dame Smith (2012) and McMillan (2013) would feel right at home receiving this award as both won the high school Butkus Award. Also, Smith is a returning college finalist from last year. Read more →

Fans Help Determine Davey O'Brien QB Finalists

CU senior Trevone Boykin, Oklahoma junior Baker Mayfield and Clemson sophomore Deshaun Watson are the three finalists for the 2015 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. After totaling the ballots from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee members as well as fan votes recorded over the past three weeks at VoteOBrien.org, the 16 semifinalists were narrowed down to the trio of signal callers. Boykin is a finalist for the second straight year, while Mayfield and Watson are among the final three for the first time. Trevone Boykin directs a TCU squad... Read more →

Fournette, Henry, and McCaffrey Contend for Best Running Back Award

LSU’s Leonard Fournette, Alabama’s Derrick Henry and Stanford’s Christian McCaffery have been named finalists for the Doak Walker Award, given each year to college football's best running back. Fournette has run for 1,582 yards and 17 touchdowns so far this season, and that includes three 2oo-plus yard games in a row. Henry has rushed for 1,526 yards and 21 touchdowns. That includes games of 236 yards and two touchdowns against Texas A&M, 210 yards and three touchdowns against LSU and 204 yards and two touchdowns against Mississippi State. McCaffery, who... Read more →

Auburn's Bo Jackson supports Bama's Henry for Heisman

1985 Heisman Trophy Winner Bo Jackson is willing to put the Auburn - Alabama rivalry aside when it comes to the sport's most important award. In an interview on the Paul Finebaum Show Jackson said, "He is my No. 1 choice to win. We ex-Heisman winners, we have three votes and we can vote for three players, and right now, he is my first choice on the list. I say this, if someone from Auburn can't win the Heisman or if Auburn can't win the national championship, I'd rather for... Read more →

Twenty-Four Finalists Announced for Nine of the Most Prestigious College Football Awards

Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for nine of the top college football awards. Here they are: College Defensive Player of the Year Tyler Matakevich, Temple (Sr.) Carl Nassib, Penn State (Sr.) Reggie Ragland, Alabama (Sr.) Biletnikoff Award--Outstanding Receiver Corey Coleman, Baylor (Jr.) Josh Doctson, TCU (Sr.) Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss (Jr.) Lou Groza Award--Outstanding Placekicker Daniel Carlson, Auburn (So.) Jake Elliott, Memphis (Jr.) Ka’imi Fairbairn, UCLA (Sr.) Ray Guy Award--College Punter of the Year Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State (So.) Tom Hackett, Utah (Sr.)* Hayden Hunt, Colorado State (RS... Read more →

Don't miss the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards at 7 pm on Thursday, Dec. 10th

The Home Depot College Football Awards will air on ESPN, Thursday, Dec. 10, at 7 p.m. ET. The show highlights the achievements of college football student-athletes in 2015. Twenty-four players were selected as finalists for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the show. Derrick Henry (Alabama), Christian McCaffrey (Stanford) and Deshaun Watson (Clemson) are each finalists for two awards. The show will be hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, who will be joined by Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit, Desmond Howard, Tom Rinaldi and Samantha Ponder. Read more →