Temple's Matakevich Wins 2015 Nagurski Trophy
Oklahoma Assistant Coach Riley Receives Broyles Award--Video

Oklahoma's Darlington Wins 2015 Wuerffel Trophy

Danny Wuerffel announced at the National Football Foundation’s Press Conference in New York that Ty Darlington, offensive lineman from the University of Oklahoma, is the winner of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy.

The All Sports Association of Fort Walton Beach, Florida, presents the Wuerffel Trophy to the Football Bowl Subdivision football player who best exhibits exemplary community service.

Oklahoma vs Iowa State football. (Photo by Ty Russell)

“We are honored to announce that Ty is the recipient of this years Wuerffel Trophy,” said Wuerffel. “The selfless work that he did by serving others not only in Oklahoma, but around the world as well, is really what the award is all about. We are proud to have him as part of our family of past winners.”

Darlington, a senior center from Apopka, Florida, helped lead the Oklahoma Sooners to an 11-1 regular season record in 2015. The Apopka, Florida, native has helped lead three mission trips to Haiti with Mission of Hope, while also leading numerous volunteer efforts (tornado relief, Children’s Hospital Visits, President of Oklahoma University Fellowship of Christian Athletes, etc.) in Oklahoma. He completed his undergraduate degree in Arts and Sciences in only 2.5 years, and currently has a 4.0 GPA in graduate school. Darlington is also a member of the National Football Foundation’s 2015 Scholar-Athlete Class, where he is a finalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy. He is the second Oklahoma University player, and the 3rd player from the Big 12 Conference, to win the Wuerffel Trophy.




Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

The comments to this entry are closed.