Defensive Players

Temple's Matakevich Wins 2015 Nagurski Trophy

Temple senior linebacker Tyler Matakevich was named the 2015 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner on Monday night, a feat paralleling his team’s rise to its first Top 25 ranking since 1980 and record-tying 10-victory season in which the Owls won the American Athletic Conference's East Division crown. Matakevich, the school’s all-time tackle leader, is the first major award winner for Temple... Read more →

Bosa, Garrett, Lawson, and Nassib Compete for Rotary Lombardi Award for Best Lineman

The Rotary Club of Houston announced today the four finalists for the 2015 Rotary Lombardi Award, presented annually since 1970 to the nation’s top college football lineman. The award honors the memory of Vince Lombardi, legendary coach of the Green Bay Packers. The 46th Rotary Lombardi Award finalists are: Joey Bosa, DE, Jr, Ohio State Myles Garrett , DE, Soph,... Read more →

Jim Thorpe Award Finalists: Cash, Hargreaves, and King

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame announced three finalists for the 2015 Jim Thorpe Award, given to the top defensive back in college football. The Thorpe Award is named after history’s greatest athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled at every sport in which he competed, including football where he played on the offensive and defensive side of the ball. Jim Thorpe... Read more →

Who Is College Football's Most Outstanding Defensive Player?

The Maxwell Football Club announced the 2015 finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year. The finalists are: Tyler Matakevich, Temple University, Senior, Linebacker Matakevich became the seventh player in NCAA history to record 100 tackles in four straight seasons Saturday during Temple's 31-12 win over Memphis. For the season Matakevich has posted 107... Read more →

And the Five Finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Award Are...

The following players are vying for the honor of Nagurski Defensive Player of the Year. ​Jeremy Cash, S, Duke (6-2, 210, Sr., Miami, Fla.): A second-team All-America selection last season, Cash has come back strong in 2015 and is tied for third in the Atlantic Coast Conference in tackles per game at 8.8. He also is the only defensive back... Read more →

Best Linebacker Finalists--Are They The Toughest Players in College Football?

The 2015 Butkus Award finalists for best college linebacker are: Leonard Floyd University of Georgia Deion Jones Louisiana State University Raekwon McMillan The Ohio State University Reggie Ragland University of Alabama Jaylon Smith University of Notre Dame Smith (2012) and McMillan (2013) would feel right at home receiving this award as both won the high school Butkus Award. Also, Smith... Read more →